For Rangers Ultra 2019 Race Report – Stage Five

Today is world rhino day. What a perfect time to have our runners cross the finish line.

22nd September, 2019

Today is world rhino day. What a perfect time to have our runners cross the finish line, which is on the equator line, on Ol Pejeta Wildlife Conservancy, home to the last 2 remaining Northern White Rhinos on earth. It’s almost as if we planned it this way.

We staggered the start this morning, having the main pack leave camp at 6:30am and the fastest 10 runners leave at 7am. It was thankfully a particularly cool morning, affording the runners a good chance of covering a decent amount of kilometers before the midday sun started to beat down.

Some of our walking wounded took to the line again today for a chance at crossing that finish line. Both Clive and Karl Midlane, who’ve been ill repeatedly throughout, picked themselves up this morning and powered their way through. Both have been a big hit around camp and no-one can deny that they’ve had a massive adventure despite not completing the course entirely.

Another honourable mention goes to Jacqui Palmer, our first ever Jamaican runner. She’s put in a massive effort every day and remained smiling despite numerous set-backs. She set out this morning determined to reach the finish. After a massive effort she crossed the line at a run accompanied by one of the biggest cheers of the day.

Undeniably, the actual biggest cheer of the day was reserved for Team Ranger One. These four have been truly indomitable and in high spirits throughout the race. These four working wildlife rangers are very familiar with this terrain and have many many friends across the conservancies. Consequently a large crowd was gathered around the finish as they approached the final stretch. Groups of rangers lined each side of the trail and ran in alongside their friends. There were some a few happy tears as the rangers collected their well-earned medals on world rhino day in front of the gathered crowd.

There are always tears of one kind or another at the finish line of a race of this epic size. The mixture of pride, relief, and excitement are often overwhelming and a few runners struggled to hold back. For that matter, so did a number of spectators.

As I type, the runners and race team are gathering in Sweetwaters Luxury Tented Camp for a celebratory meal and to exchange stories about the trail. We imagine there’ll be a few sore heads on the coach to Nairobi tomorrow morning.

The results for Stage Five and the overall results are listed below. We had a few battles today at the front of the race. Abe Nelson’s fantastic run yesterday meant he started the day with an advantage of almost an hour, but Skirmantas Sukackas tends to perform better on the flat and today’s stage played to those strengths. Skirmantas did indeed take the win today but by a matter of only 2 minutes ahead of Abe. Abe Nelson, therefore, takes the overall win here in Kenya and we offer our congratulations on an amazing performance. In third place today was Benjamin Rodgers who seemed to find something in reserve today and pushed to the limit. Third place overall, however, goes to Marcus Smith who had built up a substantial lead on Benjamin earlier in the race though he took it steadier today and came in in 8th.

The woman’s podium had been unchanged throughout the event. Sarah Watson led ahead of Liis Pagil with Reiko Kato in 3rd. At the beginning of today, Sarah had a 40 minute lead over Liis and both were a good distance ahead of Kato. They had previously finished every stage in that order but today, Liis pushed for the win. She crossed the line in first position today and we then waited nervously to see how long it would take Sarah to arrive. Just 20 minutes later Sarah crossed the line to take the overall race win. Reiko Kato once again arrive in third and holds that place in the overall standings.

We cannot say thank you enough to the brave rangers who watched over us, the conservancies who let us into their beautiful lands and to all of the runners themselves.
Remember why these runners put themselves through this. We’re all here to support our race partners at Save the Rhino and For Rangers. You can get involved yourself by donating to or even by applying to next year’s For Rangers Ultra. The ballot is open and will remain so for the next few days.
Thank you all too for sticking with us. It genuinely means the world to these runners that they are watched over by friends and family at home.

Goodnight from Kenya

NameRunnerS5 Duration
Skirmantas Sukackas6404:16:00
Abram Nelson4404:18:00
Benjamin Rodgers5304:35:00
Derrick Khan3105:00:00
Sam Pearson5005:01:00
Brian Markussen3805:03:00
Marcus Smith6005:08:00
Frode Lein05:11:00
Liis Pagil4705:20:00
Marcus Savage5705:22:00
Sarah Watson7205:40:00
Yosuke Ikuta2605:40:00
Sam Rodwell5405:40:00
Simon Davies1105:48:00
Barry Cork906:10:00
Reiko Kato2906:18:00
Stephen Parker4906:18:00
Dietmar Rosenau5506:23:00
Mel Kinder3306:46:00
Neil Kinder3206:46:00
Charlotte Riley5206:46:00
Simon Wilson7406:57:00
Christine Horner2406:57:00
Thijs Leroy3607:06:00
Kamei Tomotaka6707:13:00
Ranger One07:13:00
Yutaka Fujioka1907:40:00
Giles Hindle2307:48:00
AJ Millward4207:48:00
David Hill2207:50:00
Edward (James) Savage5807:51:00
Nigel Fishburn1508:02:00
Karl Hinett708:02:00
Henry Chaplin608:02:00
Yoshiaki Ishihara2708:03:00
Douglas Ruddock5608:15:00
Sarah Vaughton6908:15:00
Charlotte Fox1608:15:00
Mike Fox1708:15:00
Naoi Tanaka6608:19:00
Betina Karlsen2808:39:00
Flossie Carpenter408:55:00
Charles Wallis7008:56:00
Max Labouchere3508:56:00
Alexander Stephenson6108:56:00
Tarquin Stephenson6208:56:00
Isabelle Kurzava3408:57:00
Takashi Okada4508:59:00
Robert Hutchinson2509:05:00
Timothy Wright7509:07:00
Richard Van Aardt6809:15:00
Jacqui Burke309:21:00
Zoe Carr509:21:00
Anna Rhodes5109:22:00
Nakata Keiko3009:31:00
Mark Entwistle1209:48:00
Keiko Matsuo3909:53:00
Amy Strode6309:59:00
Richard French1810:16:00
NameRunnerOverall DurationOverall Position
Abram Nelson4423:03:001
Skirmantas Sukackas6423:57:002
Marcus Smith6025:43:003
Benjamin Rodgers5326:48:004
Brian Markussen3826:50:005
Frode Lein27:50:006
Sarah Watson7228:07:007
Derrick Khan3128:28:008
Liis Pagil4728:32:009
Barry Cork930:28:0010
Simon Davies1130:48:0011
Simon Wilson7430:55:0012
Marcus Savage5730:56:0013
Sam Pearson5031:13:0014
Reiko Kato2931:58:0015
Stephen Parker4932:01:0016
Yosuke Ikuta2632:19:0017
Sam Rodwell5433:20:0018
Thijs Leroy3633:26:0019
Dietmar Rosenau5534:04:0020
Mel Kinder3334:28:0021
Neil Kinder3234:28:0021
Charlotte Riley5234:36:0023
Christine Horner2436:14:0024
Douglas Ruddock5636:24:0025
Giles Hindle2337:33:0026
Sarah Vaughton6937:54:0027
Charles Wallis7038:07:0028
AJ Millward4238:22:0029
Kamei Tomotaka6738:30:0030
David Hill2238:39:0031
Edward (James) Savage5838:51:0032
Charlotte Fox1639:11:0033
Mike Fox1739:11:0033
Yutaka Fujioka1939:15:0035
Nigel Fishburn1539:21:0036
Ranger One39:42:0037
Karl Hinett740:01:0038
Henry Chaplin640:01:0038
Max Labouchere3540:09:0040
Mark Entwistle1240:30:0041
Alexander Stephenson6140:35:0042
Tarquin Stephenson6240:37:0043
Richard French1841:07:0044
Betina Karlsen2841:14:0045
Robert Hutchinson2541:55:0046
Flossie Carpenter442:07:0047
Richard Van Aardt6843:08:0048
Nakata Keiko3043:21:0049
Naoi Tanaka6643:26:0050
Timothy Wright7544:10:0051
Jacqui Burke344:17:0052
Zoe Carr544:17:0052
Isabelle Kurzava3444:50:0054
Yoshiaki Ishihara2745:14:0055
Takashi Okada4546:53:0056
Anna Rhodes5147:25:0057
Keiko Matsuo3948:33:0058
Amy Strode6348:49:0059
Tags: , ,

Thanks for sharing!

You can keep up-to-date with all thing social by hitting the buttons below